Agenda 

All Zoom links will be available to registered conference attendees via Eventbrite/Sched. Most sessions (except those indicated) will be recorded and available for viewing at a later date. 

Please note there will be a 15-minute break between all sessions. 

View the full conference schedule and details on Sched or click on the link for each date to view a PDF of the schedule

Monday, April 25

 

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PT

  • Welcome and Opening Keynote featuring Suzanne Lucas

 

2:45pm EDT/11:45am PT

  • Anti-Oppressive Supervision and Sponsorship: Valuing the Lived Experiences of BIPOC

  • Reshape Your Organizational Culture with a Holistic, Action-Based Framework

 

4:00pm EDT/1:00pm PT

  • Mitigating Precarity, Risk, and Vulnerability in Interim Library Management Roles

    • The session will not be recorded. 

  • Determining and Implementing ADA Accommodations in an Academic Library: A True Story 

    • The session will not be recorded.  

Tuesday, April 26

 

Noon EDT/9:00am PT

  • Equitable Hiring Practices from Posting to Onboarding: How to Eliminate Implicit Bias and Create a Fair, Inclusive Search

  • Stop That: Management Techniques that Need to Die

  • Lightning Talks 1

 

1:15pm EDT/10:15am PT

  • Low Morale, Legacy Toxicity and Formal Leadership: The Power of Mutual Care Dialogue

    • The session will not be recorded. 

  • Stepping into the Void: Strategies for Managing the Unmanaged

 

2:30pm EDT/11:30am PT

  • Creating an Inclusive and Accessible Culture: Supportive Management for People with Disabilities

  • Essential Management Conversations: Providing Feedback and Guidance to Talented Staff

    • The session will not be recorded. 

 

3:45pm EDT/12:45pm PT

  • Developing a Community of Practice to Support IDE in the Hiring and Retention of Student Library Employees

  • So Do You Think You Can Manage (or Want To)?: Perspectives from Women BIPOC

    • The session will not be recorded. 

Wednesday, April 27

 

Noon EDT/9:00am PT

  • Managing Sideways: Leveraging Social Capital Skills for Librarian Peer Leadership

  • Stuck in the Middle with You: Trauma, Drama, and Institutional Memory

    • The session will not be recorded. 

 

1:15pm EDT/10:15am PT

  • Mid-conference Keynote featuring Holly Hampton, Talitha Matlin, Yvonne Nalani Meulemans, and Lalitha Nataraj

 

2:45pm EDT/11:45am PT - 

  • ​Creating Fair, Equitable, Just, Effective and Sustainable Library Salary Structures

  • The Trauma-Informed Organization: Leading Ourselves and Teams, While Supporting Our Communities
  • Lightning Talks 2

 

4:00pm EDT/1:00pm PT  

  • Discussion Groups: BIPOC Managers and other TBD Discussions

    • The session will not be recorded. 

Thursday, April 28

 

Noon EDT/9:00am PT

  • Patching the Pipeline: Building a Diverse and Resilient Librarian Workforce

  • Succession Planning from the Middle

 

1:15pm EDT/10:15am PT 

  • Pre-fessional Development: Managing Student Employees for Career Growth and Service Innovation

  • Responding to the Pandemic: The Challenges and Opportunities of Using Adaptive Leadership in Academic Libraries

       The session will not be recorded.

2:30pm EDT/11:30am PT

  • Developing Your Personal Leadership Philosophy

    • The session will not be recorded. 

  • Flying the Plane While You're Building It: Cultivating a New Team Through Organizational Change

  • Lightning Talks 3

 

3:45pm EDT/12:45pm PT  

  • Exploring Reflective Practice to Develop an Evidence Based Mindset in Libraries

  • Journey to IDEA 2.0: Moving from Education to Action

Friday, April 29

 

Noon EDT/9:00am PT

  • From Siloed to Connected: Using Engagement as a Means to Improve the Culture of a Library Division

  • Library Preparedness: Formalizing and Supporting the Diversity Residency Experience Using a Resident Centered Framework (RCF)

 

1:15pm EDT/10:15am PT

  • Closing and Closing Keynote featuring Anne Helen Petersen

    • The session will not be recorded.